Split a transaction in a return
You can split a transaction after the transaction has been assigned to a return.
After the return has been filed and marked as Complete, you can't edit the transactions. If you notice a mistake in a return after you have filed it, amend the return and file it again.
-
The return must be in the Adjust stage. If the return is in a different workflow stage, move it forward or back to the Adjust stage to edit it.
After you save your changes, the return amounts will be recalculated and the remaining exempt and tax amounts will appear as a separate transaction in the Data on Hold tab. Split transactions have a split arrow icon next to the invoice number in the Return Data tab. All changes to a transaction, along with the date and time the change was made and the user who made the change, are listed in the History section of the transaction details.
