Learn how to deactivate and reactivate a return.
You can deactivate a return if it's not ready for filing yet, if you have just started filing a return, or if you don't want to file for a certain month. When you deactivate a return, its status will be Inactive for the current reporting period. You can reactivate the return at any time during the current period to file, or to file late if needed. You can also deactivate and reactivate returns, in bulk as well, from the Returns page.
CAUTION:
If you deactivate a return, it won't be filed on the due date.
- Click the More options icon.
- Choose one of these options:
- To deactivate the return, select Deactivate for current period.
- To reactivate the return, click Reactivate.